An Open Letter and Plea to Glenn Beck


I’ve been a Glenn Beck listener for about four years now. I know a lot of people don’t like him, especially liberals or, more accurately, progressives. That being said, even some on the other side of the political universe admit that they believe Beck is sincere in what he says and believes, though I’m certain those same people won’t vouch for his sanity.

That being said, Beck has had some health issues over the past few years, including “butt” surgery {insert joke here} and an emergency appendectomy. In July, his health situation became even more serious. He announced that he had been diagnosed with macular dystrophy, which could eventually leave him blind.

On today’s morning radio show, Glenn announced that he will be taking a few days off next week to undergo some testing to hopefully figure out what’s now going on with him. He has apparently been experiencing problems with feeling in his hands and feet and mentioned that it may be something called small fiber neuropathy. However, this is just one of many different possibilities. He’s also mentioned to listeners that he’s been having problems with his vocal chords recently, which may or may not be related to the other symptoms.

You can read the article and view videos from his radio show about this on his site “The Blaze” by clicking here.

My plea is this, though I’m sure this has little or no chance of being read by him…

Glenn, take care of yourself for once. Your listeners know your schedule is brutal and I’ve heard you mention on more than one occasion that you rarely sleep more than two or three hours or something to that effect. Add that to a schedule that includes doing a three-hour radio show and a one-hour television show, and that’s not to mention all the prep time it takes for those. Then there are all the books you’ve written or are in the process of writing, personal appearances, and the travel required to make it to those shows, speeches, and other engagements.

You’re stretching yourself too thin. OK…OK, I’m sure your love of gravy and ice cream is probably keeping your midsection well-endowed but I think you know what I mean. I’m afraid your hectic pace is catching up with you and I can’t imagine that you can spend as much time with your family, either, at least as much as they probably need from you right now.

Now I know that even if you were to read this, you don’t know me and my words probably don’t mean as much as someone you’re familiar with and have respect for. Please don’t take this as chastisement but just genuine concern from a listener who’s concerned about your health.

PLEASE take my advice and take some actual time off from work. Not just a few days or a week’s vacation but perhaps even an entire month. Get your tests done, get some rest, some actual sleep, and spend some extended time with your family. I’m sure considering all the things you’ve been through recently that they could probably use the extra time right now. Please, for heaven’s sake, we don’t actually want to see blood shooting out of your eyes.

I’m certain you’re in good hands with the doctors who’ll be working with you but your fans, myself included, are praying for you and the Great Physician to work miracles in your body and spirit.

5 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dave Kellogg, Dave Kellogg. Dave Kellogg said: An Open Letter and Plea to Glenn Beck: http://wp.me/pNIxK-sN […]

  2. I hope Glenn sees this. I’m sure his wife must also begging him to slow down. I think he will. I don’t think he has a choice.

    I honestly believe Glenn traded his alcohol addiction to work addiciton.

    I just want him to be healthy and have peace in his life. He’s done a great service to this Country, but he can’t do it all.

    • I’d hate to not be able to listen to him in the mornings but I’d rather he take care of his health and family first.

    • FYI, I did send this directly to his Twitter account but I’m sure he gets thousands of stuff sent there every day.

  3. Excellent! I love that you took the time to send him this heartfelt message. I pray that he heeds your advice.

Leave a Reply

