Kill ’em All?


No, this isn’t about Metallica’s debut album or the outcome of a clash between soccer hooligans. It’s about this classy dame pictured below…

If a baby’s going to be born severely disabled or totally unwanted, surely an abortion is the act of a loving mother.

If I were the mother of a suffering child, I mean a deeply suffering child, I would be the first to want to put a pillow over its face…

If it was a child I really loved, who was in agony, I think any good mother would.

Are you kidding me? These statements were made by journalist and advice columnist Virginia Ironside. Understandably, her comments aren’t currently in vogue but they are certainly becoming more widespread.

In my opinion, this is the logical end of the argument that legal abortion is a necessary evil. This isn’t a topic I’ve covered much here on my blog, if at all. At least I don’t remember the last time I posted anything here about it. However, I felt I had to breach the topic at least once and wonder aloud if this is the road we’ve forced ourselves down over the last few decades.

Now, I realize that most supporters of legal abortion won’t agree with what Ironside is saying but I think most of us could also reach a consensus that it’s possible that the unintended consequences of far too many abortions has led to some deadening of the senses in this area.

I’d like to know what you, the reader, think about this. Is this the beginning of the proverbial “slippery slope” or is it just a representation of a nutjob that should be completely dismissed?

If you’d like to view the interview from which the above quotes were taken, you can do so here…

One Response

  1. Obviously, most people are horrified about her statement, However, think about it a sec. Why is it OK to kill a child prior to birth and not afterwards? The only difference is the child’s position, right?

Leave a Reply

