It CAN Happen


“But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.” — Matthew 5:43-45

Ever since before the current recession started, many supposed experts were running to and fro saying that severe economic problems will not or cannot happen here.  “Why, this is the United States of America, you know. Things like this just cannot happen here.” We’re told to just have a positive outlook and not worry about it. Well, I agree with that in theory but, in my opinion, that statement would be better interpreted as “hide your head in the sand and pretend nothing’s happening”.

Dave Ramsey is an example of this. Don’t get me wrong. I love Dave Ramsey’s advice on personal finance. He is one of the best at what he does and it’s certainly a good idea to follow most of his advice. However, I believe he’s flat-out wrong on the economy. Will our economy recover?  Perhaps…and I’ll even go so far as to say that it most likely will, for a time. Ramsey thinks we’re going to be just fine and that there’s nothing to worry about. He says we’ll pull out of this.

Again, I agree that we shouldn’t worry. As a believer, I serve a God who is all-powerful and who will protect and see me through even the hardest of times. However, that does not mean that I can’t or shouldn’t do all I can to prepare for what could be an economic disaster heading our direction.

Our government is currently monetizing our debt. They claim that they’re not but, the fact is, that’s exactly what they’re doing. The Fed starting doing this under the Bush administration and has continued doing it in spades under the Obama administration. This approach has failed EVERY time it’s been tried in history.

Our wonderful Senators and Representatives, Democrat and Republican alike, also continue to spend our hard-earned money like the proverbial drunken sailor. Even the so-called stimulus bill, passed earlier this year, contained hundreds of billions of dollars in spending on unnecessary social programs and other pork-laden projects. It was supposed to be necessary to kickstart the economy and get us back on our feet yet it’s more than likely only going to help bring us to our knees even faster.

Again, I don’t believe anyone should panic over this but I do think we need to be realistic about what could happen. God has blessed this country and he may continue to bless us but, sooner or later, we will reap what we have sewn in terms of our fiscal sin. We cannot continue spending and printing money like there’s no tomorrow and expect to have no ill consequences. Those consequences could be very grave indeed.

As the scripture passage above indicates, I as a believer in Christ am not exempt from hard times. I can do all I can to prepare for them but, being a member of this society, if they eventually come, I will still be effected. But keep in mind that with great trouble also comes a great opportunity for blessing. The passage says that God “sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous”. I believe this can be taken two ways…One is that hard times can and will come on both believers and unbelievers alike. The other is that good things can happen even in the midst of hard times and, through those good things, I can still be a blessing to those who are hurting.

Leave a Reply

