Look at Me, Please!!!!


Has anyone else noticed that it’s now become fashionable to admit you were wrong, or admit to some misdeed, indiscretion, etc? As far as public figures go, it almost seems like some kind of media-enhanced perp walk. Joe Politician gets caught with his proverbial pants around his ankles and immediately the wheels of positive spin begin to turn. I imagine a PR firm is hired and a consultant is brought in to coach his every word, mannerism, and movement. This is especially the case if the offending party is a Republican or conservative who has or is perceived to have been preaching “family values”. In that case, I really have no sympathy for the perpetrator.

It’s gotten to the point that I have trouble knowing whether Joe P. is truly apologetic and repentant or just embarrassed at having been caught. You know how it is when you catch your child with their hand in the cookie jar. I know, overused expression there but appropriate nonetheless. Anyway, the child comes up with every excuse imaginable why they had their hand in the cookie jar. Finally, they admit to their wrong and put on an act, at least that’s what the cynical side of me thinks and it’s no different with Joe P. The only problem is that Joe P. banks on the public having a short memory and, unfortunately, I believe he’s pretty much right on that. I think we’re interested more in the perp walk and about the juicy details of what was going on than discerning whether or not the guy was actually apologetic or not.

For me, I guess it all started with the whole Jimmy Swaggart scandal that started back in the 80s. In 1986, Swaggart exposed fellow minister Marvin Gorman for his infidelities. The following year, Swaggart again outed another fellow minister, televangelist Jim Bakker, calling him “a cancer in the body of Christ”. Of course, as the story goes, Swaggart was eventually found out for the charlatan he was in 1988. What was good for the goose was apparently also really, really good for the gander, considering he was caught again in 1991.

Anyway, my point is that I find it extremely difficult to trust these people that come out publicly, admitting their wrongs and asking forgiveness. I realize it’s not my place to condemn them. That’s God’s role in all this. He’s the only one that can truly judge the intents of the hearts of men. I’d like to close with the lyrics to a song that often comes to mind when this kind of thing is in the news, “It Could’ve Been Me” by Christian artist Phil Keaggy.

I heard the news today
That another soldier tumbled
A fragile warrior slipped and fell from grace
The vultures swooped to tear his heart
And pin him to the ground
And from the shadows someone took his place.

Today we talk amongst ourselves
We never bought his words
We say we’ve seen the madness in his eyes
Tomorrow he’s forgotten as
We’ve scrubbed him from our hearts
And as he bleeds we slowly turn our eyes

But it could’ve been me
I could’ve been the one to lose my grip and fall
It could’ve been me
The one who’s always standing tall
For unless you hold me tightly, Lord
And I can hold on, too
Then tomorrow in the news
It could be me, it could be me

And in our hearts we fear the ones
Whose lives are like our own
Whose shadows dance like
Demons in our minds
We think to push them far away
We exercise our souls
We make them play the tune for all mankind

Today we talk amongst ourselves
We never bought their words
We say we’ve seen the madness in their eyes
Tomorrow they’re forgotten as
We’ve scrubbed them from our hearts
And as they bleed we slowly turn our eyes

But it could’ve been me
I could’ve been the one to lose my grip and fall
It could’ve been me
The one who’s always standing tall
For unless you hold me tightly, Lord
And I can hold on too
Then tomorrow in the news
It could be me, it could be me

But I believe there is a place
Where we can run and hide
When we know that we can’t stand
For one more day
And I believe You’re waiting, Lord
To hold me very close
For You know without Your love I’d lose my way

But it could’ve been me
I could’ve been the one to lose my grip and fall
It could’ve been me
The one who’s always standing tall
For unless you hold me tightly, Lord
And I can hold on too
Then tomorrow in the news
It could be me, it could be me

Leave a Reply

