The Elephant in the Room


You know how when someone or a group of people are ignoring an obvious problem, people will say “You’re ignoring the elephant in the room”?  Well, in this case, I’m using it intentionally with a double meaning.

Let me explain…I’m a big guy, i.e., the “elephant in the room”.  When I say “big”, that’s politically-correct terminology for “fat”.  I’ve been overweight since my junior high days.  In my late teens to early twenties, I was still overweight but really didn’t look too terribly bad, in my opinion (please don’t correct me if I’m wrong…).  However, I started putting a lot of weight on toward the end of college and into my mid twenties.  Of course, I also stereotypically put on a lot of weight after getting married…OK, bring forth the marriage jokes, if you will.  Anyway, at this point I have a LOT of weight to lose, with “heavy” emphasis on “LOT”.

Personally, I haven’t been the direct target of fat jokes, snickering behind my back, etc., as far as I know.  True, I am a fat guy but it’s also true that I can handle myself pretty well.  I’ve managed to maintain at least a small bit of athleticism, despite my weight, though even that is rapidly exiting stage left.  However, I hear the comments about others, or even fat people in general, all the time in public, on the airwaves, etc.  Heck, I used to be part of it in my high school days, making fun of fat classmates, something I now regret since it’s come back to bite me in the proverbial ass.  It’s kind of funny, in a way, because many of those making fun of overweight people are themselves overweight.  Does anyone else see the hypocrisy in that?

Looking at this from a Christian perspective, I’ve noticed something that distresses me sometimes.  Why is it that Christians feel so sorry for alcoholics, for instance, yet neglect to extend that same courtesy to others?  We all know it’s wrong to abuse alcohol but we all, myself included, believe that it’s a noble thing for an alcoholic to admit their problem, repent, and allow God to work in their lives on that particular area.  I think it’s awesome when someone is willing to do that.  However, when it comes to fat people, and perhaps it’s just my own inclination in sensing this, why is it that many people have the attitude of “Well, they’ve just done this to themselves and they should quit being lazy and push away from the table”.  Wow, great thinking there, Einstein!  Push away from the table?    Yeah, that’s probably literally true, however, that’s not always the underlying issue.  Many overweight people, just like with alcoholism, have something else that causes them to want to overeat.  Many times, it is a serious bout with depression.  Other times, it’s something that happened to them as a child, teen, or young adult that has caused them to have a really low opinion of themselves and so they stuff it all down with lots and lots of food.  Yet with the alcoholic, we have sympathy and come alongside them to support them…and that’s a good thing.  Don’t get me wrong.  We SHOULD support them, have sympathy for them, etc.  That’s what we’re supposed to do as a Christian community.  However, don’t we owe the same thing to others who are struggling with their own addictions?

I don’t write this with a boohoo, woe is me, attitude.  I have an addiction.  To quote Led Zeppelin, it’s “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”.  I and I alone bear the responsibility for what I’ve done and am doing to my own body.  However, I just want to point out that the other “elephant in the room” is the double standard that overweight people are subjected to in this way.

OK…Now I know some of you are thinking “Give me a break!  You’re only saying these things because you’re a fatso!”  Yeah, maybe, but  is my logic wrong?  If noy, you’re the kind of person I’m writing about here.  I know it’s cliche but ask yourself “What would Jesus do?”.

I don’t want any sympathy.  I just want to point out what looks to me like the “elephant in the room”.