By Any Other Name


I heard this song just a few minutes ago and it impacted me in a way that it never has.  I’ve heard it many times and it’s been one of my favorite songs for awhile now but it just hit me differently this time.  It’s called “By Any Other Name” by one of my favorite singers, Wayne Watson.

I spend my time thinking about lots of things that, in the end, just don’t matter.  Yes, they may be important things in the here and now but, in the eternal perspective, they just don’t measure up.  I think I’ve lost sight of that recently and this song has helped me regain that perspective.  I pray that I’ll allow God to keep my sights set on what, or better said, WHO really matters.

At the Name all heaven fell at His feet
At the Name the saving of the world was done
On the lips of everyone wanting God’s complete forgiveness
Every soul in desperation
Everybody in pain
Every broken heart can call on the Name

His name is Jesus and I am not ashamed
To call on Jesus
Heaven’s door will not be opened
By any other name

To the Name the world has grown so cold
Oh, as if eternal life could just be bought and sold
As if the precious blood of Christ was spilled for no good reason
But every knee will bow one day
And every tongue will proclaim
That the perfect Son of Heaven
Is the Name above all names

His name is Jesus and I am not ashamed
To call on Jesus
Heaven’s door will not be opened
By any other name

And here on earth, some call it out in vile profanity
And take the name of Christ in vain
Life in the world  has robbed some innocence away from me
But through it all, I know He loves me
I will glorify the Name

His name is Jesus, I am not ashamed
To call on Jesus, to call on Jesus
His name is Jesus, I am not ashamed
To call on Jesus
Heaven’s door will not be opened
By any other name

Leave a Reply

