8,000 Miles


Warren Hern

Yesterday, on this very blog, I spoke out against the murder of abortion doctor George Tiller.  I make no secret of the fact that I am pro-life.  However, today I hold little hope that my pro-choice counterparts will condemn the statements of Boulder, CO abortion doctor Warren Hern.  Hern, being interviewed for an article in the Denver Post, said:

The only difference between the American anti-abortion movement and the Islamic Jihad is about 8,000 miles.  It’s the same outfit. These folks are fanatics. They talk to God, and they carry guns.

Excuse me?  You’re comparing me to fundamentalist Muslims who would just as soon cut off someone’s head as they would kiss their grandma?  In all fairness, Mr. Hern has been exposed to some violence as a result of his chosen profession.  However, to compare the mostly peaceful pro-life movement to those who routinely commit real violence is beyond the pale.  Yes, there has been the occasional abortion clinic bombing and a few abortion doctors have been murdered in the name of God.  I condemn those attacks and their murders are just as wrong as I believe the killing of an unborn child is.  However, there is no comparison to the daily horrific violence committed in the name of Allah, violence that attempts to justify the beheading of innocent people, the mutilation and suppression of women, and other such acts of violence.  It’s not even close, Mr. Hern.

Also, please notice the connection Hern makes between God and guns.  Does this remind anyone of a prominent politician who, not too awfully long ago, made his own connection between God and guns, as if believing in God and supporting gun rights and/or carrying a gun should be mutually exclusive?

To be perfectly clear, let me summarize as follows:

  1. Murder of any kind is wrong.
  2. Violence against abortion supporters, clinics, and doctors is wrong.
  3. Equating a mostly peaceful movement to real violence is wrong.

I don’t know how to make it any clearer than that and I sincerely hope I’m wrong about what I wrote back in the third sentence of this post.

Leave a Reply

