Authentic Faith


I was reading an article from The Christian Post this morning about authentic faith and how it is contagious.  Here’s an excerpt from that article…

Fewer matters of life are more important than being authentic. When someone is authentic it’s contagious, when not it’s a major turn-off.  Miss California, Carrie Prejean’s response during the Miss USA Pageant to a question asked about gay marriage on Sunday night was a demonstration of authentic Christianity. When openly gay judge Perez Hilton asked the beauty queen if every state should approve gay marriage as had Vermont and four other states, she replied: “I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other. But in my country, and in my family, I think that I believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there, but that’s how I was raised.”

This is something I struggle with on a daily basis.  Does my faith appear authentic to others or is it an irritant?  Does it turn off others to the gospel of Jesus Christ?  Honestly, even if others do perceive it as authentic, it can still be an irritant.  Some people just don’t like Christians in general, regardless of if their faith appears to be authentic or not.  My prayer is that my faith and the faith of my fellow believers truly is authentic and that we leave the perception to those around us.

The rest of the above quoted article can be read at “Miss California: An Authentic Demonstration of Faith“.

Leave a Reply

