The Real Meaning of Christmas


My wife and I don’t have many Christmas traditions.  We make a big meal for Christmas day, usually turkey, dressing, etc., we open our gifts in the morning after breakfast, and we read the Christmas story.

Well, I guess there’s a slight correction to that last one…I’M supposed to read the Christmas story.  The problem is that I can start the story but I can’t finish it.  The story means so much to me that I just get really choked up.

Jesus came so that a sinful person like me could experience the life that God intended us to live.  That life is available only through Jesus.  I know that’s not a popular nor politically-correct thing to say.  That’s what Jesus said, though.  He wasn’t just a mere teacher or wise man.  To say that is to completely ignore the things he said that make him completely different from any other religious leader.  He said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father, except through me.”  That’s basically Christmas in a nutshell…That God came in the flesh, in the person of Jesus Christ, and that eternal life can be had through a relationship with that person.

To use an overused saying, Jesus is the reason for the season.  I pray that each and every person reading this (however few there are), finds either peace through a new relationship with him or through a renewed relationship with him.

God bless and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

