Dorky Product Nominee, The Snuggie


Have you ever wished you could be dorkier than you already are?  Do you have problems with friends and family not making fun of you enough?  Is your self-esteem too high?  If you answered yes to all three questions, I have the solution for you…The Snuggie.

Seriously, who is buying these things?  I’ve seen the commercials all over television over the last two weeks and I can just not imagine who would buy this thing.  If there’s any product that says “I’m a huge dork!!!”, this is it.

The Snuggie is basically just a blanket with sleeves.  I don’t get it…I think there is already a product like this.  IT’S CALLED A BATHROBE!  You just buy an over-sized one and wear it backwards.

It must also be a product for those of us with hand coordination issues because the commercial states that the Snuggie solves the age-old problem of not being able to extricate one’s hands from under a blanket.  Yes, there’s nothing more annoying than not being able to reach the remote in time to turn the channel so that unaware family members don’t have to view an offensive commercial like the one for the Snuggie.

Lastly, the makers of the Snuggie actually suggest that you can wear this thing at sporting events.  Now I’m not a violent person, mind you, but if a buddy of mine showed up at a sporting event wearing something like this, I’d probably have to restrain myself from issuing a well-deserved beating.  Fortunately, for those of us blind to our dorkdom, the Snuggie is a one-size fits all deal, so the entire clan can display their dorkiness together.

4 Responses

  1. Yeah, I’ve been seeing this commercial quite a bit as of late. You gotta wonder if they actually sell enough of these to cover the commercial costs. Who knows, maybe they will really catch on and instead of toga parties….well never mind 🙂

  2. I would guess that since the commercials have been running so much lately, people must be buying them…Can’t imagine why, though.

  3. Ahem…my family threatened to buy me one of these since I’m always freezing. I told them my electric blanket works just fine. 🙂

  4. […] you the first incarnation of “Dorky Product Nominee”. The initial nominee was “The Snuggie“, a product sure to get a snicker out of friends and family, if not a butt-kicking from a […]

Leave a Reply

